Listing… vertically

I’ve used my A6 Traveler’s Notebook exclusively for about a month and during that time imposed a no-download-no-buy and a 10 minute daily limit for planner pondering.

It was time for me to review my planning set-up because of a major life change and because every September finds me leafing back through my writings anyway, to see if there are any goals I can still accomplish and to plot perfect holidays. I’ve yet to have a perfect holiday but I have accomplished the goals I’ve recorded, broken down and kept track of.

So the month is up and I thought I’d compare what I came up with to other systems I’ve used and loved (and may revisit) throughout 2014:

10_13_14_Planner carry

Day-Timer’s Reference Set (top) and DIYFish LMIV02.1:

LMIV021 vs DT REF 2014

DIYFish LMIV03  (top) and Quo-Vadis University 2014/2015:

LMIV03 vs Quo Vadis

All along I was hoping I could eliminate the potential for overwhelm by simplifying. The Quo Vadis refill fits perfectly in my A6, can withstand my favorite fountain and gel pens and, because it of its vertical layout, can even graphically display time spent:

vertical calendar

This little gem, combined with a blank notebook – for list systems like Autofocus, GSD or the Bullet Journal – handles current and future planning, notes, projects, etc.

Granted, I can print DIYFish’s vertically laid out LMIV03 on the paper weight and color of my choice, it has my favorite grid rule and I can size it up on down depending on how I’m going to use it.   However, after a (happy) year of paper shopping, printing, cutting and punching, simply buying and sliding notebooks into my Traveler’s Notebook felt like cheating.  If something’s missing (more about this later) I tape it in.  I’m spending more time recording and doing than I am on planning to plan.

Speaking of ready-made, Fish did say in an interview with Ray Blake  that she will eventually sell ready printed planner systems and I’ll be first in line for them!

Leave a Reply

