Sunrise

The yarn for experimenting with the techniques in the Sunrise Circle Jacket has arrived! It’s pink, which is just weird, and feels more cotton than my hands are comfortable with. Okay, time to pause and confess: I have a love/hate relationship with cotton yarn. It’s the perfect fiber for all weather and for not roasting indoors or beneath a coat but my hands work harder to maintain gauge and tension. Then there’s the matter of some of my cotton knit garments losing their shape after washing. This yarn (even though it feels like straight up, unadulterated cotton) is not only on sale, its mostly wool, meaning I’m supposed to trust it. I will.

I’m intrigued by the round edges of this jacket, that it’s knit sideways, includes shaping elements and a couple little sewing tricks. As it is, I picture short me overwhelmed by it so this is destined to be Sunrise Circle-ish, especially since I’ve yet to follow a published pattern anyway. As usual, I had to celebrate the upcoming knitting event by spending. Soon (I hope) some great shipper will be delivering a set of beautiful Harmony needles. I need them…case closed.

Top down is very strongly on my mind even as I contemplate Sunrise so I also just ordered Knitting Saddle Style: A Dozen Designs for Saddle-Shoulder Garments (Twelve Sweaters One Way) because I can’t find my little green book of Aran knitting (Firsherman…Aran…something like that – hope it turns up) with the saddle instructions. When my son was three I used it to knit up some heavenly natural Wensleydale into a gorgeous sweater that actually gleamed. I’m fortunate to have rediscovered the Son of A.R.A.N. Project page and to have dug up an old, self-published labor of love, Aran from the Neck Down, by Dixie L. Falls. Of course Barbara Walker’s original, dog-eared Knitting from the Top is handy (duh!) as well. I also tossed a Dummy’s guide to blogging here on WordPress into my cart and pre-ordered Nicky Epstein’s Signature Scarves: Dazzling Designs to Knit because I’m a fool for her books.

Just finished the last of How Starbucks Changed My Life: A Son of Privilege Learns to Live Like Everyone Else . Even knowing the premise ahead of time, I was put off at first by the son of privilege thing and had to resist dismissing it as the very usual tale of a white person of means discovering both how normal and how special those beneath him on the social strata are. Though I’d heard this sincere, humble man on the radio, I still had to fight eye-rolling derision during some of the musings, such as when the author – in the midst of toilet cleaning or something – might relate the mundane to meeting Hemingway, Andy Warhol, the Queen or some such person. I chose to hear them as  contrasting  scenes from a long life and continued to strongly connect with the issues of deep regret, aging, work equaling worth and starting over. Overall, an uplifting, calm, knit-worthy listen.

Swatches to follow.

Leave a Reply

